About Us

Health Matters New Mexico began in June of 2006 as Bernalillo County PLACE MATTERS–one of 19 Place Matters Teams located throughout the United States that works in partnership with Collaboratives for Health Equity (CHE). Our team is committed to improving the health of our communities by addressing the root causes that lead to poor health.


All families in central New Mexico—especially in communities of color—will have equitable access to what the need to be healthy.


Health Matters New Mexico (HMNM) advocates for land use, social, and economic policies that will create healthy neighborhoods and resolve the disproportionate environmental burdens on communities of color and economically vulnerable communities of central New Mexico.

Our Work

Health Matters New Mexico’s work centers around educating citizens and decision-makers about the impacts that neighborhood conditions have on health and building the capacity of community members to address the social, economic, and environmental conditions that shape the health of their communities. Through our work, HMNM advocates for a Health in all Policies approach and sensible policies that will create healthier neighborhoods by providing analysis, data, and other information so policymakers can make informed decisions on behalf of the communities they serve.


James M. Aranda, Director

Matt Cross-Guillén, Community Capacity Building Coordinator

Team Members

Esther Abeyta, Community Member

Magdalena Avila, University of New Mexico

Adrian Carver, Community Member

Mark Clark, New Mexico Department of Health

Julio Dominguez, University of New Mexico Student

Sergio Gonzales, University of New Mexico Student

Daniel Michel, University of New Mexico Student

Jerry Montoya, New Mexico Department of Health

Lauro Silva, Mountain View Neighborhood Association

Moneka Stevens Cordova, Health Leadership High School

Julie Stephens, Community Member

Kristine Suozzi, New Mexico Health Equity Work Group

BCPM team photo

*not pictured: James M. Aranda, Magdalena Avila, Adrian Carver, Mark Clark, Matt Cross-Guillen, and Monica Trujillo